The Start of a Dream Come True

As a senior in college with a dream of working for the mouse, I have always known the best start would be the Disney College Program. I was in high school when I discovered this existed, and thought it would be really cool; that I would want to do it someday. I had only ever imagined I could do it at Disneyland. At the same time, I had been dreaming of the day when I could finally travel to Disney World, when it dawned on me. What better way to do Disney World, than to live, work, eat and breathe Disney for a few months during a paid internship? I had never dreamed I could just up and leave California, my home, my friends, my family, and everything I have known for these past 21 years, and yet, I could. I could hop on a plane and within a few hours, begin the dream that is my Disney career. I knew this was the dream I had been waiting for, this was the ultimate college experience I needed, rather than to spend my weekends partying or my summers studying abroad in a foreign country. I needed to visit “A Whole New World,” I needed to discover something new, that would be meaningful to me. I needed Disney. With the words of Walt himself to inspire me, I know that “All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them” (Walt Disney).

Leave a Reply

